Vivekananda Kendra Vidyalayas

Vivekananda Kendra Vidyalayas (VKVs) in Arunachal Pradesh, under Vivekananda Kendra Vidyalayas Arunachal Pradesh Trust (VKVAPT), is the oldest service activity of its parent organization Vivekananda Kendra, a spiritually-oriented service mission with headquarters at Kanyakumari. Since their inception in 1977, VKVs have been striving to provide an all round nationalistic education to the children of this remote Himalayan State of India. Presently, VKVs in Arunachal Pradesh are 37 in number, which includes Ekalavya Model Residential School, Bana. VKVs have been acknowledged throughout the North-East India for their substantial contribution in improving the educational scenario in these States. A large number of 1stGeneration learners, especially from poor & backward villages have emerged as Doctors, Engineers, Professionals in Fine Arts, Businessmen, IAS Officers, as well as enlightened citizens.
Almost three decades back, Mananeeya Eknathji Ranade, honouring the invitation of Government of Arunachal Pradesh, deputed Mananeeya Sri. A. Balakrishnanji to Arunachal Pradesh to start schools. In 1977, the first VKV was started at Sher (near Kimin) in Papum Pare district, with a total strength of 30 hostellers. The same year also saw the inauguration of six more VKVs, at Balijan, Roing, Jairampur, Kharsang, Oyan and Seijosa.

In the following years, as people could comprehend that the VKVs are for qualitative education, there is a demand for the opening of VKVs in all the districts of Arunachal Pradesh. At present 37 VKVs are catering the educational needs of all districts of Arunachal Pradesh, except  Upper Siang and Upper Dibang Valley.

VKVs are known for their Academic Excellence. The 5-fold Development methodology, i.e., Physical, Vital, Emotional, Intellectual and Spiritual aspects of Human Personality are given due importance and accordingly, tailor-made activities are incorporated in the day-to-day school routine, with very good results.
VKVAPT is a registered Trust under Indian Trust Act, having its Registered Office at Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh, and its Administrative Office at Dibrugarh, Assam.